Do It Yourself. (No, Make Me.)

I want to punch winter in the face.

Being off work leaves me with lots of free time. That leaves me bored. Rawr, boredom. It’s too cold to go take pics or whatever (punching winter in the face, here). So I’ve been doing some redecorating & DIY type stuff. I painted my living room last week. It was supposed to be grey, but it came out a shade lighter than was intended, so it looks a little like a purple-grey, sometimes. I like it, still, so I’ll stick with that colour. The lighting sucks in this pic, so you can’t really see the proper colouring. siiiigh. Image

I’ve been doing some more killing-time DIY stuff, too. Painted some frames black to go on the grey wall. Did.. uh, some other stuff. I forget, already.

Tried to fix some drawers on a hideous antique chest-of-drawers (which I’m going to paint). Being the genius I can be when my attention span wanders, I grabbed a tube of super glue to toss it out of my wayImage, and didn’t realise it was leaking. So it stuck to my finger before I could get it off. Took me 15 minutes to get the wretched thing off (& with only minimal skin loss).

I started re-doing the front of this two door night stand thing today. I’m new to the DIY fix.it.yourself crap, so I was trying to put this red cardstock stuff on the front, with that mod podge (mod hodge? hedgehog?) stuff. It.. failed. Haha. I really like the colour of the cardstock, and it’s stuck on there, but it bubbled. Glue + cardstock = bubbling. I might pull it all off & re-do it with red contact paper. Or maybe I’ll say “RAAAAWWWR!”, run in circles, kick it twice, and leave it until my borderline obsessive twitchiness kicks in. Then re-do it. See? All bubbly! Rawwwr. Two hours and that’s what I ended up with. Then I tried to do the top. Same result. haha.

ImageI liked the blue that’s on the top (though I had to yank all that hideous gold trim off) but I want it red. My plan is/was to paint black the places where I yanked off the trim. Maybe I’ll just paint the doors instead of papering them or whatever. Maybe I’ll just kick it back out into the garage.

I want to paint my kitchen orange. & blue & red. Yes, all three colours. haha Might look like a bigtop, so I’m still working out how I want it. Maybe I’ll paint the cabinets, and I want to build a coffee table, if I can find the stuff I want to use..

I really need to stop watching DIY network & HDTV.

On the work side: I was offered a position at two different places! yay! But I had to turn them down because my lovely future sis.in.law moved back to her & my brother’s hometown two weekends ago, and I had planned on conning her into watching my wild ones (for pay, of course). Boo. haha. Still waiting to hear from Toyota, now that I’ve taken every test & physical known to man.

My son’s starving again – it’s been almost two hours since he ate last, oh no! – so I shall go toss food in his direction (a.k.a fix dinner). That’s if my daughter doesn’t sneak up on me again & give me another mini heart-attack. I think I’ll ground them both for a million years.

[[Hubby: “I know you’re bored, but we’re on a budget.
You can’t re-do the whole house until you get another job.”
Me: ‘Can I rip out the bathtub?’
Hubby: *headdesk*]]

I’m not sure how to post youtube vids in here. But this one? Perfect for the parents out there. ^_^

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. The Gothamite
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 16:40:09

    Hi there,

    I very much like your blog and would like to nominate you for this award, The Versatile Blogger Award.
    You may or may not have already been nominated for this award, but know that I find your blog worthy of this award an infinite amount of times.
    Should you choose to accept this award, you may find the “rules” at the following address: http://thegothamite.wordpress.com/2013/03/26/theversatilebloggeraward/

    Keep up the awesome work, I hope to continue reading your blog for a long time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

STOP WALKING DEAD!

slaying the zombie in you through Jesus --

Model For {Change

Creating a positive change.

~Idiot Writing~

'all our lives are a poetry - awake our souls.' ~ Battling the hypocrite within ~

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

Madstoffa's crunchy house!

Part time actor, aspiring writer of poetry and prose and full-time idiot with a heart.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

artgland

the secretion of art by Rhian Ferrer

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

Joshua Robertson

Award-Winning Fantasy Author

CHATTYOWL

"Owls are not what they seem"

myothervoices

Human, animal and other voices not my own

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

The Neighborhood

telling the story from every vantage point

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Dystopian Nation of City-State

A cruel, futuristic vision created by science fiction authors James Courtney and Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills. ©2013-2016. All Rights Reserved. All writings available through Amazon.

